Interrogative or just lazy?

Availing myself of the opportunity to procrastinate, yet lacking the drive to blog properly, I’ll just cop a groove from Padgett Powell, whose Interrogative Mood ostensibly formed the topic of DW’s book club a few weeks ago (SH and SGS were both present). The novel (unless the genre police would label it something else) consists entirely of questions, some profound, some silly, some random. Here are ten questions to ponder or ignore.

1. Would you ever buy an exotic pet—a loris, perhaps?

2. If you learned that you had thirty minutes to write down your most important memories before a machine wiped your brain clean as in The Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, what would you salvage?

3. Regarding your answers to question number two, did you include any painful memories? Why or why not?

4. If someone offered you an all-expenses-paid, year-long world tour with the stipulation that you travel alone and talk to nobody, would you go?

5. Have you ever heard of pesäpallo?

6. Assuming that all people and pets made a safe exit from your burning abode, what single possession would you rescue on your way out?

7. Of your five senses, which two would you sacrifice in order to save the other three?

8. Would you rather party with dull, attractive celebrities or dull, plain norms?

9. If you could expunge one cliché or trite expression from the English language, which would you choose?

10. What kind of pie rocks your world?

~ by Moldorf on March 31, 2010.

5 Responses to “Interrogative or just lazy?”

  1. Oooooh. . . this is a good one. And if I hadn’t already procrastinated on my own blog, whipping myself into a late-ish handout-creating frenzy, I’d work on my answers now. But I have to work. So stop tempting me with all this goodness!

  2. Ok. . . here goes. . .

    1. I don’t think so. I think sugar gliders are really cool, but I can’t imagine ever owning one. It’s hard enough to take care of a dog.

    2. I LOVE that movie. I would want to remember events that I think shaped my life in important ways–so that I didn’t lose myself.

    3. And yes, a few of them would be negative. . . because part of my identity, part of the reason I’m sympathetic and reluctant to judge, is the negative.

    4. No way. For me, life is about sharing experiences, not just having them.

    5. No. But I really don’t understand why you’d run to the left for first base and then back to the right for second.

    6. I’m trying to think of something that’s irreplaceable. Maybe one of my back-up data storage methods, like a flash drive, so that I’d have photos and documents that I value?

    7. This is impossible for me. I talked to HP about it, and he knew his right away (smell and hearing), but I can’t possibly decide. I like food far too much to lose taste or smell. Music is a huge part of my life, so hearing is essential. I find peace in reading and driving, so I can’t lose my eye sight. And I’m so, so very tactile that being without a sense of feeling would screw up too many things.

    8. Neither. Dull is dull no matter what kind of package it’s wrapped in.

    9. Definitely not “In like Flynn” now that I know the etymology.

    10. A better question might be what kind of pie doesn’t rock my world.

  3. I’ve never heard of sugar gliders before: soooo cute! I cannot believe that HP would choose hearing. He’s a musician for shit’s sake!

  4. Don’t forget, JD, that he has to listen to me. 🙂 But you’re right: I was shocked about the hearing thing!

  5. 1. yes as long as it won’t eat me or that I do not need to cage at all.
    2. Memories of my travels, the interesting people I’ve met, and Jim.
    3. No painful memories
    4. No. I like meeting people. It’s not just the landscape that fascinates me.
    5. No. But I now understand what a Scandinavian was doing when she was on the English dept baseball team in grad school. She would hit the ball and then run towards the pitcher. This always confused the opposing team.
    6. As many pictures (photographs) in albums as I could salvage.

    7. Taste and smell.
    8. What’s the difference? Wouldn’t matter.
    9. Two: since the beginning of time; in today’s society.
    10. Berry pie.

    Now, I’ll read the other submissions….

Leave a Reply

 
